Thank You

2014 has been a year filled with a lot of firsts for me; I took my first steps on European soil, I took my first swim in the Mediterranean and most recently I took my first breath under water, but more than all of these things I will remember 2014 as the year I started my first novel.

Writing a novel has been nowhere near the walk in the park I had first anticipated it to be. From outlining to character development to building plot; I jumped right into the deep-end and while flailing about, I tried to learn about all of them at once. Obviously this wasn’t the best way to learn, but learning is exactly what I did. I have a much better idea now of what it takes to write a novel. Of the preparation, planning and forethought that are needed before you can even begin to sit down and write. I also know that I am more than capable of doing it. I believe that I have a unique way with words and that I can create something wonderful with that ability.

What an adventure this summer was for me. I learned so much about writing and about myself. I found a lot of things this summer, but I lost some things as well. It wasn’t the walk in the park I thought it was going to be and this project didn’t give me all the answers I was looking for, but I am so glad that I did it. I am so happy and proud of myself for following this dream and for taking this giant leap.

I know it’s been quite a while since my last blog post and that is because I am putting the Hemingway Project on hiatus for the time being. I enjoyed plotting and building the characters for this novel and I will return to it soon, but right now there is some other writing projects that I want to focus my energies on. There won’t be a blog to go along with my next project, but please know that I am still writing everyday and hopefully in the coming months I will have some more written work to share with you. Please rest assured that I am not giving up on this novel. I plan to visit it again soon and I will finish it. I am just giving it some time to ferment while I work on some new projects.

As 2014 slowly comes to an end, I just wanted to take a moment to show my appreciation to all of you for following along in this adventure with me. Your support and encouragement have meant the world to me throughout this entire process and I just wanted to say thank you. Thank you for all of it.

6 thoughts on “Thank You

  1. Brandy I am so very proud of you. You have matured thru this and I am looking forward to the day you finish your novel. Enjoy your new projects .
    Love you very much

  2. You should be very proud of yourself for what you have accomplished this year. The courage it took to take this step in your journey to the next great Canadian novel is very admirable. I am inspired by your courage. I am sure that we are all very glad to hear that you are not abandoning your dream. Afterall, we all believe in you and we are all looking forward to reading it one day in the future. We are very very proud of you.

  3. Don’t give up on your dreams. We are so proud of you and what you accomplished this year. It shows that you have a strong character. Too many people give up on their dreams and become very resentful because of it. I am looking forward to reading anything you write. I only wish I had a way of words as you do. Writing is not one of my strengths…Take care and good luck in your other projects…

  4. Dear Brandy, I am a friend of your mother’s from long long time ago and I joined your blog at the beginning out of curiosity. I admire the energy and the determination of the youth to jump into projects head first. Those attempts need to be encouraged as they may lead to great discoveries and advancement, sometimes for the benefit of others. An avid reader myself, I often explored in my dreams plots for novels but never pursued while awake. I find you are courageous for trying so and enjoyed following your train of thoughts. Your words are refreshing and meaningful. Should you resume your blog or other publication, please count me in. Until then, I wish you all the best and insightful experiences. Sincerely, Joane.

  5. I am totally confident that , when the right time comes , you will complete a novel that we will all be very proud of . Happy 2015 .

Leave a comment